Login Register

Equestrianism by Kathryn Pearn, August 21

By Cornish Guardian  |  Posted: August 21, 2013

CHAMPIONS: Sarah Pursall of St Columb and Bengad Wild Honeysuckle are congratulated by the National Pony Society supreme judge Michael Cook at the Royal Cornwall Showground. www.rachaelbromagephotography.co.uk

Comments (0)

THE Welsh Section A pony Bengad Wild Honeysuckle owned by Joyce Johns of Kerrow Moor secured the Supreme championship over a field of 13 high quality champions at The National Pony Society (Area 26) Show, held at the Royal Cornwall Showground.

Shown by Joyce's daughter Sarah Pursall of St Columb Major, this true to type, Welsh Section A mare opened her campaign with a victory in the Welsh bronze rosette class under judge Richard Miller of Carmathen, Wales, before adding the British Isle in-hand championship to her tally under Jinks Bryer of Somerset.

"Nowadays we stay local," said Joyce. "We don't go to shows every week and this was our mare's first outing of the year."

Bred by the Bengad Stud, this lovely 10 year-old grey mare joined Joyce and her husband Ian four years ago and since that time she has bred a filly for the family.

"We try and keep the number of ponies we have down to ten," said Joyce. "But we love them so much we end up wanting to keep them all and grey ponies are our favourites. I'm lucky that my husband Ian and my daughter Sarah are as keen as I am. It's a real family affair and we all share in the enjoyment. Winning the supreme championship was really exciting. Going into the final judging the steward told everyone to take off their sashes and rosettes to ensure a level playing field. An independent judge was brought in for the supreme which made it all the more interesting."

Michael Cook of Taunton travelled to the Wadebridge Showground to judge the supreme which showcased a high quality championship line-up.

"They were all champions in their own right," he said. "It was a very difficult task and my winner was the pony I would most like to take home with me."

Joyce was thrilled. "We just want to keep on showing the ponies," she said. "Our next outing is back at the Wadebridge Showground for the late medal show. I'd like to thank my daughter Sarah for showing our ponies and fitting everything in with her busy dog grooming business. We get very attached to our ponies and it's wonderful it's a family hobby."

The in-hand championship and reserve supreme went to Sue and Bob McNamara's silver medal winning Fell colt Brackliin Dynamite.

"We would like to express our thanks to all competitors, judges, stewards, committee and helpers without whom we would not have had such a fabulous show," said Heather Banbury.

"Thirteen champions stayed for the supreme and it's a big thank you to Michael Cook for travelling down from Taunton and expertly taking on the role as our independent judge. Andrew Clemens once again built a fantastic working hunter pony course which was challenging and well received by all competitors, with numbers up significantly on last year."


NPS in-hand Silver medal championship. Judge Mr R Miller: Champion - Bracklinn Dynamite (Mr & Mrs McNamara, Lydvale Stud); Reserve: - Gellihaf Romeo (Sue Smith Manwee Stud).

Welsh Bronze Rosette Classes: Judge Mr R Miller: Welsh Section A: Champion: Bengad Wild Honeysuckle (Mrs J Johns); Reserve champion: Cefnfedw Tinkerbell (Mrs V Pierce). Welsh Section B: Champion: Kallared Ladykiller (Mrs J Wilson); reserve: Tresparrett Fusilier (Mrs E Kenyon). Welsh Section C: Champion: Maenan CJ (Mr & Mrs R Curtis, Polmesk Stud); Reserve champion: Brohedydd Flying lady (Kate Lutey). Welsh Section D: champion: Kensa Desert Rose (Kate Lutey). Reserve: Kensa Celtic Princess (Kate Lutey).

M&M ridden: Judges Mrs C. Fletcher & Mrs J Bryer: Mini championship: Rochedo Beach Boy (Dartmoor, ridden by Izzy Alderson); reserve: Thistledown Passion Flower (Welsh section A, ridden by Connie Cleary). Ridden Silver medal championship: Saltmarsh Tittle Tattle (Welsh section C owned by J Callan, ridden by Hollie Callan); reserve: Holmedown Niagara Falls (Highland owned by C Quick & J Roberts ridden by Carrie Quick).

Champion ridden show pony show hunter pony: Judge Mrs A Jones: Milton Page Boy (Jordan Pooley); reserve: Chasecroft Dawn Chorus (Izzy Alderson). Show hunter pony In hand championship: Melgra Super Trooper (Brison Holnest Finnegan. N Walters); Show pony In hand championship: Crahan Sweet Elegance (Mrs Margaret Kivell); reserve: Crahan Sweet Faberge (Mrs Margaret Kivell); British Isle In-hand championship: Bengad Wild Honeysuckle (Mr and Mrs Johns); reserve: Gellihaf Romeo (Sue Smith). British Isles ridden champion: Milton Page Boy (Jordan Pooley); Saltmarsh Tittle Tattle (J Callan).

Working hunter pony championship & British Isle qualifier: Judge Mrs S Hore: Tulira Darog (Connemara owned by S Cookson and ridden by Jessica Please); reserve: Glenmoore Gwenic (Connemara owned by Amanda James and ridden by Emma James). Competition / sports pony championship: Holnest Finnegan (N Walters); reserve: Saltmarsh Tittle Tattle (J Callan). Supreme championship Bengad Wild Honeysuckle (Mr and Mrs I Johns); reserve supreme: Bracklinn Dynamite (Mr & Mrs McNamara).

The prestigious Native Pony of Cornwall Association Champion of Champions final and the Young Handlers championship takes place at the Stithians Showground on August 25.

For details of the Young Handlers final call Fred Kellow on 01209 861406 or for the Champion of Champions call Sue Payne 01736 851243.

Read more from Cornish Guardian

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters